Skip to Main Content

BML: Library Careers

Public Site

Director of Library Services

Position Title: Director of Library Services

Position Salary: Starting annual salary, $74,000-$82,400

Position Type: Full-Time, work is typically performed Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm, subject to after-hours and weekends as needed to accomplish work objective and meet deadlines.

Position Benefits: Insurance: medical, dental, vision, life; 401K, pension under the Local Government Employee’s Retirements System, accrued vacation and sick leave, personal leave, tuition reimbursement.

Position Summary: This position provides direct oversight and direction for Braswell Memorial Public Library. The Library Director will work under the direct supervision of the Board of Trustees. Work will involve providing administration, supervision, planning, and management. This employee will be responsible for overseeing the development and implementation of programs, services and policies. This position promotes an inclusive and diversified environment for patrons and staff. The Library Director will be responsible for preparation and management of the operating budget. This position includes developing strategic plans to improve the library and its services.

Position Qualifications: Master’s Degree in Library Science/Library and Information Science from an ALA accredited school, possession of or ability to obtain a NC Public Library Certification, five years of public library experience, and at least three years of administrative or supervisory responsibility.

Additional Position Requirements: Must be able to pass background check, possession of a valid North Carolina driver’s license.

Position Available: May 1, 2024

Position Closing Date: Open until filled.

To Apply: Send resume, cover letter, and contact information for three references to hr@braswell-library.org

Collection Development Manager

 

Position Title: Collection Development Manager

Position Salary: Starting annual salary $42,000.00, commensurate with experience

Position Benefits: Medical, dental, vision, life, 401K, pension with Local Government Employee’s Retirements System, accrued vacation and sick leave, tuition reimbursement

Position Summary: The Collection Development Librarian position is responsible for building a relevant, high-interest collection across formats, platforms and levels. This position exercises professional judgment and expertise in the selection of appropriate materials and online resources to serve the needs of our community. Cross-departmental collaboration is required to efficiently deliver a premium experience to internal and external customers. Work is performed with considerable independent judgment and initiative.  The collection Development Librarian is responsible for the budget, working with library vendors, selection, purchase, and tracking of new materials and documentation on all cataloging details.  Other duties include resource sharing, weeding, researching statistics and reporting national trends, technologies, and supervision of employee(s).

Position Qualifications: Master’s Degree in Library Science/Library and Information Science from an ALA accredited school, possession of or ability to obtain a NC Public Library Certification, and experience working in public libraries with collections (2 years’ experience).

Position Physical Requirements: Work is typically performed while sitting, standing, bending, crouching, or stooping.  The employee frequently lifts light objects, occasionally lifts heavy objects, uses equipment requiring a high degree of dexterity, and must be able to distinguish shades of color.

Additional Position Requirements: Must be able to pass background check, possession of a valid North Carolina driver’s license.

Position Closing Date: Open until filled

To Apply: Send resume and cover letter to hr@braswell-library.org

Information Services Manager - Full Time

Position Title: Information Services Manager

Position Salary: Starting annual salary, $42,000, commensurate with experience

Position Type: Full-Time (includes 1 night per week, 1 weekend per month)

Position Benefits: Medical, dental, vision, life, 401K, pension with Local Government Employee’s Retirements System, accrued vacation and sick leave, tuition reimbursement

Position Summary: The Information Services Manager is responsible for managing all aspects of the Information Services/Reference Department. The scope of work includes but is not limited to, managing operations, supervision of staff,  assisting in collection, providing reference services, supervision of adult programs and local history, oversee use of study rooms and computer lab, and ensuring patrons are served promptly in an amicable manner. 

Position Qualifications: Master’s Degree in Library Science/Library and Information Science from an ALA accredited school, possession of or ability to obtain a NC Public Library Certification, and experience working in public libraries with reference experience (2 years’ experience).

Position Physical Requirements: Work is typically performed while sitting, standing, bending, crouching, or stooping.  The employee frequently lifts light objects, occasionally lifts heavy objects, uses equipment requiring a high degree of dexterity, and must be able to distinguish shades of color.

Additional Position Requirements: Must be able to pass background check, possession of a valid North Carolina driver’s license.

Position Closing Date: Open until filled

To Apply: Send resume and cover letter to hr@braswell-library.org

Youth Services Associate Part-Time

POSITION TITLE: Youth Services Associate Part-Time

Position Salary: Minimum starting wage of $11.00/hour

Position Type:  Part-time (18 hours per week), this position will work two evenings per week and every other Saturday, 18 hours per week.

Position Summary: Under the supervision of the Youth Services Manager, the Associate will assist with the daily operations of the Youth Services Department, which includes but is not limited to: engage with children and adults in utilizing library and internet resources, shelving books, provide readers’ advisory, answer reference questions, promote materials for children ensure the department is kept in a neat and orderly manner.  Must be able to communicate effectively (orally and in writing), provide excellent customer services, and adhere to library policies and procedures.

Position Qualifications: High School diploma or equivalent is required, associate’s degree or higher is preferred. One to three years’ experience working in customer service, library experience and experience working with children preferred.  Must be able to pass background check.

Position Physical Requirements: Work is typically performed while sitting, standing, bending, crouching, or stooping.  The employee frequently lifts light objects, occasionally lifts heavy objects, uses equipment requiring a high degree of dexterity, and must be able to distinguish shades of color.

Position Closing Date: Open until filled.

To Apply: Please submit a cover letter, resume, and three professional references to hr@braswell-library.org